Welsford repeated victory but the return is for Miguel Ángel López

Jan 29, 2023 | 0 comments

Presented by

The Australian Samuel Welsford won the last stage of the 39th Edition of the San Juan International Tour but the champion is the Colombian Miguel Ángel “Superman” López | Photography: Vuelta a San Juan.

The last stage began very emotionally with the tribute to Maximiliano Richeze, a runner from the Argentinian National Team who rode his last race as a professional cyclist, right here Where It All Begins.

The race had 7 turns in Avenida de Circunvalación that counted along the 16 km of route for each circuit. There were more than 200 thousand spectators enjoying the best cyclists worldwide in our province.

The first turn was all for Maxi Richeze who gave it alone with the peloton behind respecting the atomic in his farewell. In the second turn, the cyclists increased the pace and at that moment Laureano Rosas, Carlos Salgueiro, Mathias Vacek and Jens Reynders took advantage to stay with the two intermediate emotions of the afternoon.

In the last turn the escape ended and the favorites began to position themselves to try to define the stage, at which time Remco Evenepoel worked for his squad as well as the Team DSM riders to try to place their sprinters at the front of the peloton . In the last meters, again in an exciting finish, the stage was won by Samuel Welsford who used 2 hours 23 minutes and 41 seconds, Fabio Jakobsen and Giacomo Nizzolo completed the podium.

The General was not modified, since Miguel Ángel López managed to keep his leader’s Maillot after getting it in Alto del Colorado and became the new monarch of La Vuelta Internacional San Juan UCI PRO SERIES with 25 hours 40 minutes and 57 seconds, Filippo Ganna and Sergio Higuita completed the podium.

General ranking:

1) Miguel Ángel López (Team Medellin) – 25:40:57 seconds.
2) Filippo Ganna (INEOS Grenadiers) – 25:41:27 seconds.
3) Sergio Higuita (BORA-hansgrohe) – 25:41:41 seconds.

Best Under 23

-Matthew Riccitello (Israel – Premier Tech) – 25:42:38 seconds.

Best Argentinian:

-Leandro Messineo (Chimbas Te Quiero) – 25:42:53 seconds.

Best San Juan

-Nicolás Tivani (Team Corratec) – 25:42:56 seconds.

Sprinter Champion

-Gerardo Tivani (Virgen de Fátima) – 19 points.

Mountain Sprint Champion

-Manuele Tarozzi (Green Project – Bardiani CSF Faizané) – 24 points.

Racing Incidents

Meta Sprint – Second tep through the finish line | 32,0 KM

1) Jens Reynders (Israel Premier Tech) – 3 points and 3 seconds.
2) Laureano Rosas (Gremios por el Deporte – Cutral Co) – 2 points and 2 seconds.
3) Carlos Salgueiro (AP Hotels&Resort – Tavira) – 1 point and 1 second.

Meta Sprint – Fifth step through the finish line | 80,0 KM

1- Laureano Rosas (Gremios por el Deporte – Cutral Co) – 3 points and 3 seconds.
2- Mathias Vacek (Trek – Segafredo) – 2 points and 2 seconds.
3) Carlos Salgueiro (AP Hotels&Resort – Tavira) – 1 point and 1 second.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *